Biology Logo 

   Evolutionary Biology
   at San Diego State University


  SDSU Logo 
College of Sciences Logo
  
Ph.D.
Program


  
PhD Program Home

  Prospective Students
      Program Overview
      Admissions Information
      Application Procedures

  Current Students
      Committee Information
      Curriculum and Exams
      JDP Forms
      Travel Information
      Student Directory
      Appeals

  Contact Information

     Coordinator
     SDSU Faculty
  
   U.C. Riverside Faculty
     Affiliated Faculty


   
Evolutionary Biology PhD Program


 Joint-Doctoral Students 2019-2020 Academic Year

Tierney Bougie
PhD candidate
Lab:
Hedin
Research interests: Hybridization zones
Email: tcbougie@gmail.com
Ryan Buck
PhD candidate
Lab:
Flores-Rentería
Research Interests:
Plant Evolutionary Biology
Email: rcbuck@sdsu.edu
Tamsen Dunn
PhD candidate
Lab:
Waters
Research interests:
Plant evolution
Email: tdunn@sdsu.edu

Rudy Fabunan
PhD candidate
Lab:
Waters
Research interests:
Plant genome evolution
Email: fabunanr@gmail.com

Grace Freymiller
PhD candidate
Lab:
Clark
Research interests:
Behavioral ecology, predator-prey interactions, and biomechanics
Email: gfreymil@gmail.com
Dylan Maag
PhD candidate
Lab:
Clark
Research interests:
Behavioral ecology, herpetology, and predator-prey ecology/coevolution
Email:
dmaag3229@sdsu.edu
Bryan Myers
PhD candidate
Lab:
Burns
Research interests: Bird systematics and evolution
Email: bmyers-w@sdsu.edu

Talieh Ostovar
PhD candidate
Lab:
Waters
Research interests:
Plant genome evolution
Email: talieh.ostovar68@gmail.com

Niveditha Ramadoss
PhD candidate
Lab: Flores-Rentería
Research Interests:
Plant genetics and molecular evolution
Email: nramadoss@sdsu.edu
Juan Pablo Ramirez
PhD candidate
Lab: Reeder
Research Interests:
Herpetology
Email: JP.RAMIREZ10@UNIANDES.EDU.CO

Nathan Robinett
PhD candidate
Lab:
Rohwer
Research interests:
Genes, Behavior, and Evolution
Email:
nrobinett@san.rr.com



PhD Graduates in Evolutionary Biology

2015
Dr. Andrew Gottscho
PhD, 2015
Lab:
Reeder
Research interests: Herpetology, systematics, speciation, population genetics
Email: andrew.gottscho@gmail.com

2017
Shahan Derkarabetian
PhD, 2017
Lab: Hedin
Research interests: Opilionid systematics
Email:
sderkarabetian@gmail.com
Sean Harrington
PhD, 2017
Lab: Reeder
Research interests: Snake evolution and morphology
Email:
seanharrington256@gmail.com

Stephen Rice
PhD, 2017
Lab:
Clark
Research interests:
Landscape ecology
Email:
srice010@odu.edu


2018

Paul Maier
PhD, 2018
Lab:
Bohonak
Research interests: Herpetology, landscape genetics/genomics
Email: maierpa@gmail.com

Ketan Patel
PhD, 2018
Lab:
Bohonak
Research interests: Population Genetics
Email:
patel11@rohan.sdsu.edu
Casey Richart

Casey Richart
PhD, 2018
Lab:
Hedin
Research interests: Opilionid systematics
Email: pileated@gmail.com


2019
Agnese Lanzetti
PhD candidate
Lab:
Berta
Research interests: Whale anatomy, evolution, and systematics
Email: lanzetti@rohan.sdsu.edu