Evolutionary Biology
at San Diego State University
  Biology Logo 

Dr. David Archibald elected as Fellow of the
American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has awarded the distinction of Fellow to 471 of its members this year. These individuals have been elevated to this rank because of their efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished.  New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and (or) blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, 16 February, at the Fellows Forum during the 2008 AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston.

The Fellow from your institution is:

J. David Archibald, San Diego State University:  For distinguished contributions to our understanding of mammalian evolution during the Mesozoic and of the Cretaceous-Paleogene boundary extinction event.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the Steering Group of their respective sections (which are noted on the Fellows list), by three Fellows, or by the association's Chief Executive Officer.  Each Steering Group then reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective Section and forwards a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council.

The AAAS Council votes on the final aggregate list.  The Council is the policymaking body of the Association, chaired by the President, and consisting of the members of the Board of Directors, the retiring section Chairs, delegates from each electorate and each regional division, and two delegates from the National Academy of Science.